Magazine Project week 5!

So we finally have our brief! I absolutely love the idea and the project ahead! I have to create two front cover designs for a new look of Architectural Review magazine which must show how the design will relate to a series. One of the front covers must feature a lead article on the revival of a historical architectural period. Along side designing two front covers I must also design a double page spread which will feature one of the front cover articles, no advertising is to be used throughout the design. The text cannot be dummy text and has to be from an existing article on a similar theme. I have to use a minimum of 3 images throughout my designs, incorporate the title and use the 5 column grid. I am expected to make some use of the white space within my design also.

So there’s my brief! I’m going to start by looking into Architectural magazines, comparing them by layouts and seeing how they use the continuity of their chosen grid with double page spreads.

Leave a Reply

